Cobb County DUI Law
2551 Roswell Road
Marietta, GA 30062
IF YOU HAVE BEEN ARRESTED FOR DUI, YOU ONLY HAVE 10 DAYS TO SAVE YOUR LICENSE.
If a driver has been arrested for DUI in Georgia, their driver's license could be suspended if action is not taken right away. It does not matter if the driver is found guilty or innocent, the license can still be suspended for up to a year.
In Georgia, there are separate hearings and court proceedings for licenses that were seized during a DUI arrest. Without action, a driver's license can be suspended for up to a year. In most cases, without any permits. These hearings are not a part of the DUI case.
This separate hearing can also have a dramatic impact on your DUI hearing. It is important to act fast if you have been arrested for a DUI. An appeal for your driver's license must be made within ten business days. This appeal can help to stop the automatic suspension of your driver's license. Without this letter, your license will be automatically suspended. You may also lose any chance of receiving special permits to drive.
If you refused to take the state administered sobriety test, or if your results were higher than they 0.08%; your license can become suspended for up to 12 months. This suspension normally starts thirty days after your DUI arrest.
It is important to note that if you refused the state sobriety test and are proven innocent in court, you can still lose your driving privileges if the ten day letter was not submitted.
If your state sobriety results was over the legal limit, you can still fight for driving privileges. For drivers who are over 21 years of age, the ten day letter can help secure permits. These permits will allow you to still drive to school, work, medical appointments and medical treatments. The state of Georgia also offers a Risk Reduction course, commonly referred to as DUI school. Attendance of this school may help in reinstating your driver's license even earlier.
While filing a ten day letter for your license hearing may seem simple, it often isn't. For second or third time offenders, those under 21 years of age and drivers from out-of-state will often have a complicated case. Hiring the right DUI lawyer to handle your license hearing is of most importance.
Let Attorney Robert Webb file your ten day letter, his office can file the letter the same day that you call. He can also help secure your license hearing with a different judge who will not be hearing your criminal DUI case. This will greatly increase your chances of receiving your driver's license or much needed permits.
Attorney Webb is well respected in the courtrooms and has years of experience with Cobb County DUI Law. He can answer any questions you may have and help walk you through your driver's license hearing.